OSCAR 2014: ANIMARTINI will be rooting for Marcos de Barros and STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS!

animartini_img_destaque_03012014

Post also available in Portuguese (Brazil)

Sunday, March 2nd, everybody here at ANIMARTINI will be watching the 86th edition of the Academy Awards®.

We will be watching closely for the BEST ANIMATED FEATURE – I´m personally rooting for THE WIND RISES, directed by the master Hayao Miyazaki, or ERNEST AND CELESTINE, directed by Stéphane Aubier, Vincent Patar and Benjamin Renner) and BEST ANIMATED SHORT (GET A HORSE! has a special place in my heart) categories, but all of our eyes will be focused on the BEST VISUAL EFFECTS category, since Marcos de Barros, one of ANIMARTINI´s brain-trust friend, alongside his peers at Pixomondo and other visual effects production houses, are running for the prize with STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS (Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton).

If J. J. Abram‘s movie receives the award, it will be the second time Marcos was involved in a projetct that takes the award, as you’ve read here: in 2012, Martin Scorsese‘s HUGO was the selected one and took this prize home.

The Academy Awards® will be televised by ABC, direct from the Dolby Theatre, at 7 pm ET (5.30 am IST/ 12 am GMT).

Leave a Reply

*